5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 21, 2021 2:51 AM by Nico Heinze

Joiner Transformation Guidelines

Nicholas Yuricic New Member

Hi Team,

I'm putting together a series of logical data objects that will require mulitple joins. Each object will require anywhere between 15 to 30 joins per object. I'm relatively new to IDQ and recall from my training that it is not advisable to use too many joins in a single object. I'm having trouble remembering the exact guidelines on limiting the use of the Joiner transformation. Generally speaking, how many Joins in a logical data object is too many?

I'm aware that Informatica's recommendation is to deal with this in the database but I currently do not have that option open to me right now. I appreciate any advice you guys can give me.

Thank you,

• 1. Re: Joiner Transformation Guidelines
          Nico Heinze Guru

Don't use Joiner transformations in the LDO mappings.

Drag the LDOs into your mapping, then use Joiners inside the mapping to join those sources.

Most importantly, if at all possible, make sure that the input data are sorted by the join keys, that will help in terms of performance and of stability.

Besides these general terms I can't answer your question, I'm a PowerCenter guy and no IDQ guy (and both products work pretty much differently).

Regards,

Nico

• 2. Re: Joiner Transformation Guidelines
            Robert Whelan Guru

Anything which applies to the Joiner in Powercenter should be applicable in IDQ. The Joiner Tx in IDQ is 'borrowed' from Powercenter.

Differing UI, but I believe the underlying C/C++ code will be similar.

• 3. Re: Joiner Transformation Guidelines
              user126898 Guru

Lets look at this thru a lense.