Thanks for highlighting the undesired behavior of the WebUI.
Agree it should ideally allow edits only after task assignment.
But not sure the Audit trail behavior you mentioned.
Could you pls elaborate, what username comes up in the audit trail?
Thanks for your insights, Sathiesh! I must admit that I haven't checked the Audit trail part myself before posting this. Just checked now, and the user is actually shown when changing a field before assigning the task to yourself. However, another reason why the business wants this: The task stays in the list, even if the fields are completed before clicking the assignment button. (In all fairness, if everyone agrees to assign all tasks first before doing anything, this wouldn't be a huge issue. But it can't hurt to research. )
About the undesired behavior; we use one UI template which is editable. The way we see it, we would need to use two templates, the first one (to assign the task) should be read-only and the 2nd one editable in order to fill in the fields, after accepting the task. Or do you believe this can even be solved within one template?