3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2021 10:55 AM by Nico Heinze

How does informatica versions work?

Chris . New Member

Hi all,

I am pretty new to the informatica world. I have what may seem like a stupid question, but I couldn't really find any information outside.

From other products I handle such as SAP, there are two types of versions, one is a major and one is a minor (patch level update). For instance there Netweaver 7.4, then within it there's SPS1-20, which are basically huge bundle of patches.

I was wondering in Informatica is there such a concept? For instance version 9-->10 is major, and version 10.x to version 10.y is a minor, like a patch update?

From what I gather, Informatica guides have used the word upgrade for just about everything, so its making it a little harder for me to understand the difference.

Best Regards,

Chris

• 1. Re: How does informatica versions work?
          Smitha HC Guru

Hi Chris,

Yes, your understanding is correct. upgrade from 9 to 10 is the major upgrade. We have 10.1, 10.2, 10.4 and 10.5 would be releasing. These are all major versions. 10.1.1/10.2 HF1/ 10.4.1. These are minor versions.

But in the guide its mentioned as upgarde.

Thanks,
          Smitha

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How does informatica versions work?
            Paolo Moretti Guru

I couldn't find any official documentation about Informatica's versioning system/convention.

Although, I believe it could be summarised in the following way, at least for PC, DQ and DEI:

major.minor.build[.revision] [HotFix <1..9>] [ServicePack <1..9>]

If you want to know more about what the differences are between them, you may want to take a look at the following posts:

=> https://network.informatica.com/thread/1960

=> https://network.informatica.com/message/230967#230967

Not all products have "revisions" and "service packs." They seem to affect only those products with a rapidly changing life cycle (e.g. Data Engineering).