5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 18, 2020 3:42 AM by Nico Heinze

Significant increase in profile time from 8M to 10M records. Configuration issue?

Aris Fernandez New Member

I am new to Informatica and I have been tasked with understanding the company's IDQ installation so that it can be used with our data.

I have been trying to run profiles. For a long time profiles larger than 1-3 Million records would crash the server until a recent specs upgrade and now larger profiles run without issue. I tried to follow the recommended specs found here for individual IDQ use. The machine currently has a 4 core CPU, 30 GB of RAM, and a 1 TB drive (4x2 TB is recommended but that is too much, I think).

I was able to run a profile with 8.5 million records (12 columns and 3 rules) in and it took 2 hours and 48 mins. That is about 1.20 milliseconds per records, and it compares to smaller profiles I have run before. But when last night I ran 10 million records, it took 10 hours and 14 minutes, that is 3.68 ms per record, which is more than 3 times the time it took for a profile with 15% less records.

The data source is a logical data object that reads from a database, so I thought maybe the source DB is the issue, but I checked and the time it takes to reach "Read [#] rows, read [0] error rows for source table [table] instance name [instance]" for both profiles scales similarly to the scaling in record count.

The real difference is in the time between " Writer run started" and "Writer run completed" (on the logs, I mean). For the 8.5M case, the writer run takes 2 hours 14 mins, while for 10M it takes 9 hours 32 mins.