7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2021 6:09 AM by Nithy S

Error handling in IICS data integration mapping task

Chetan Sarawade Active Member

Hello All,

I am a newbie to cloud community. I am working on data integration. I created a Mapping task for loading gz file from the S3 bucket to Redshift. I defined schema at source level. While loading into the target tables a few rows get dropped because of invalid data its happens due layout validation issue. when source data is not matching with schema i defined.
      I am trying to load these rows into the error log file but unable to do that. I enable Advanced session properties
      and select Erro log file as error1, Error log type as fat file, Data column delimiter as comma and enable  Log Source Row Data. but I am getting a blank file.

Is i am missing something?
      Is there any way that i can load those rows into the error log file??

• 1. Re: Error handling in IICS data integration mapping task
          Ashwini Ramakrishna Guru

To access the actual error file, go to the following path and look for the file with task id:

<agent_dir>\apps\Data_Integration_Server\data\error

For custom error file name and directory create an MCT and add the Advanced Session Property:

Error Log Type

Error Log File Directory

Error Log File Name

• 2. Re: Error handling in IICS data integration mapping task

Hi Ashwini
            Thanks for your help.
            I am able to find error log file but the problem is I am getting empty file. There is no record that is inserted into the error log file. Its because
            when the row is rejected at the source, then usually it has to do with the column definition (data type, precision, and scale) defined for one or more columns in the source.

The column definition may not be able to handle the data in the source and "rejects" the row. Errors in the session log stating as such rows are dropped due to invalid data.