6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2019 11:00 AM by Mitesh Joshi

Thrift File Using Informatica

Mitesh Joshi New Member

Hi Team,

Is it possible to create a thrift file using Informatica PowerCenter or Informatica Developer.

We are currently using the version 10.2

Regards,

Mitesh Joshi

• 1. Re: Thrift File Using Informatica
          Nico Heinze Guru

What exactly do you mean? The Thrift definition file of the highest-level layer of an Apache Thrift stack or something else?

What exactly do you want to do in the end?

Regards,

Nico

• 2. Re: Thrift File Using Informatica
            Mitesh Joshi New Member

Hi Nico,

Thanks for reverting.

I am new to this thrift concept. I am not sure what the highest-level layer means. Could you please explain a bit on it.

Also, how does an end to end process using thrift file looks like in informatica? Could you please provide an example.

Regards,

Mitesh Joshi

• 3. Re: Thrift File Using Informatica
              Nico Heinze Guru

No, for sure I'm the wrong person to do that. I've just read a bit of the Wikipedia page today after you've posted your question.

The reason why I've asked for the highest-level definition file is that the Wiki article mentions it, and it was the only mentioning of something like a file. That's why I've asked whether you mean this.

As far as my (very thin!) understanding goes, Thrift provides an abstraction layer (an API layer, maybe?) for web-based services. Nothing about files in particular. That's why I've asked. This concept is completely new to me as well.

Regards,

Nico

• 4. Re: Thrift File Using Informatica
                Mitesh Joshi New Member

Hi Nico,

Thanks for reverting.

I have figured out what I need, however, not sure how to achieve it.

I need to create a schema of whatever file I have been provided. Suppose, if there is a csv file as input, the output should be the schema of that input csv file.

For Example:

Input CSV is like

ID,Name,Company,State

123,ABC,XYZ,DEF